Listen

I have a terrible habit of not remembering names and faces the first couple times I see someone.  But, the minute I put my hands on, I can remember even the most minute and inconsequential detail from our last visit. My hands do a better job sometimes than my ears.

A lot of my work is listening. My clients verbalize their needs and goals for our session. The quality of their voice, the way they talk about their body is as important as their physical history and needs. They will hold their body a certain way, make indicative gestures of where there may be tension or trauma without the individual even knowing it was there. Listening, for me, is visual, aural, and sensory. The amount of information can be overwhelming, and I usually preference my hands over my other senses. They map the body physically and energetically in a way that leaves a stronger impression than sight or sound.

When I’m listening through my hands, I have to trust them over my own intellect. When we put our waking mind on a back burner and focus on one truth, trusting in it, we raise our subconscious awareness. It becomes easier to “sense” things. And it fosters an inner confidence that grounds us in our spirit.

Stay with me here. We can all agree that we are subject to the energy around us. We know that all energy and matter have relationships and therefore, when there is an energy shift however small, we can feel it. Listening with other parts of the body will heighten your awareness of these energy shifts.

But why do we care?

Well, I think it helps us to be in harmony with the world and maybe we could all use a little harmony.

We will get into mitigating negative energy in a different post, but for now, try to tune your other senses. It can be as simple as eating your food slower to release all of the flavors and enjoy the different textures. When folding laundry, feel each fabric between your fingertips. Rest your hand on different things and see if you can sense the difference in energy between a  table and a cat, or a plant and a lamp.

Oh yes, and now we’re back to tree hugging. Well, if you need me you’ll know where to find me.

 

Leave a Reply

